Tags

, , , , ,

Kevin Costner & Modern West

Kevin Costner & Modern West

Since I stayed up too late after going to the Kevin Costner & Modern West concert at the Music Farm in Charleston, South Carolina last night, I decided not to go to the Audubon Swamp Gardens to shoot as previously planned. Instead, I stayed in and worked some of the iPhone images from the concert last night. As it turned out I was pleasantly surprised to find that there were a few that I could do something with despite the distance and that there was a lot of smoke in the air and bright lights were shinning right into the lens. The smoke was strange because no smoking is allowed. I didn’t see a smoke machine, but there must have been one somewhere. I mention the smoke because I had to shoot everything sans flash because the smoke just reflected the flash right back into the lens.

Kevin Costner & Modern WestMy daughter, Kari, treated me to the concert for which I am most grateful. I am not one to go to a lot of concerts because I am really not into fighting crowds. However, this was a small, intimate venue and the crowd was not bad at all. Except for a few rude people pushing by everyone to get closer for photographs it was not bad at all. There really wasn’t a bad standing place in the Music Farm at all. All-in-all a great show. I should also mention that Sara Beck opened the show and then returned to sing another song and a duet with Kevin Costner.

Kevin CostnerAfter the  show was over, Kevin Costner returned with a bottle of champagne and a glass and pored himself a drink and then toasted the crowd. I thought it was a very nice gesture. After we left the Music Farm after the show, we had to walk by the tour bus. While there we were lucky to get to see Kevin Costner again and he was gracious enough to pose with Kari and a number of other fans for photos.

Color versions of the photos:

Kevin Costner & Modern West

Kevin CostnerKevin Costner toasting the fans